## MCE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Friday, December 2, 2022 12:15 P.M.

The Executive Committee Meeting was conducted pursuant to the requirements of <a href="Assembly Bill No. 361">Assembly Bill No. 361</a> (September 16, 2021) which allows a public agency to use teleconferencing during a Governor-proclaimed state of emergency without meeting usual <a href="Ralph M. Brown Act">Ralph M. Brown Act</a> teleconference requirements. Committee Members, staff and members of the public were able to participate in the Committee Meeting via teleconference.

**Present:** Denise Athas, City of Novato

Edi Birsan, City of Concord Tom Butt, City of Richmond Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax Cindy Darling, City of Walnut Creek Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur, Chair Max Perrey, City of Mill Valley

Max refrey, City of Mill valle

Shanelle Scales-Preston

Gabriel Quinto, City of El Cerrito

Brad Wagenknecht, County of Napa and All Five Napa Cities

Sally Wilkinson, City of Belvedere

**Absent:** Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo

Devin Murphy, City of Pinole Holli Thier, Town of Tiburon

Staff

**& Others:** Jean Bonander, Facilitator from Finesse the Future

Jesica Brooks, Assistant Board Clerk

Stephanie Chen, Director of Legislative Affairs

Sebastian Conn, Community Development Manager

Vicken Kasarijan, Chief Operating Officer

Shaheen Khan, Director of Human Resources, Diversity &

Inclusion

Tanya Lomas, Internal Operations Assistant Catalina Murphy, Associate General Counsel

Dawn Weisz. Chief Executive Officer

#### 1. Roll Call/Quorum

Chair Haroff called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 12:16 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

#### 2. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

# CLOSED SESSION Conference with Labor Negotiator Agency Designated Representative: Board Chair Unrepresented Employee: Chief Executive Officer

The Committee adjourned to Closed Session at 12:20 p.m.

The Committee reconvened in open session at 1:30 p.m.

Report out by Chair Haroff from the Closed Session: No reportable action taken. Staff were given direction to finalize the materials for Agenda Item #06 for the Committee to vote on in the Open Session.

#### 1. Roll Call

Quorum was established by roll call.

#### 2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were none.

#### 3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

#### 4. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO, Dawn Weisz, reported the following:

- Marin County Supervisor and MCE founding Board Member Damon Connolly will be sworn in to his new seat in the California State Assembly on Monday. We look forward to working with Assemblymember Connolly in his new role.
- A couple of events for MCE since our last Executive Committee meeting:
  - CAISO Symposium: Attendees learned about plans for increasing coordination among western states, and the results of the September heatwave
  - CFEE Conference: Attendees learned a lot about hydrogen energy use in Japan.
  - PANC presentation with Karen Douglas, representing the Governor's office.
- We are completing our transition from Calpine to SMUD for our data management services. Official transfer date is December 16th. Our call center and internal data warehouse are functioning well.

- MCE submitted a grant request to the CEC for a green hydrogen project, and another proposal is in the works to the Department of Energy.
- A reminder that we will be holding our Virtual Holiday party on Friday, December 9th at 6:30pm. We will start with opening remarks and then an opportunity to join many different break-out rooms with jeopardy, cooking demos, and the all-time favorite, moth radio hour.
- An important reminder that we will be starting our December Board meeting at 7:30 (not 7pm) to accommodate a few Board members who have a competing event that evening. But it will be an important meeting where we can pay tribute to our Board Chair, and a few other long-time Board members as they wrap up their time at MCE and move on to other adventures.

#### 5. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 Approval of 11.4.22 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Second Agreement with Thorn Run Partners, LLC

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no

Action: It was M/S/C (Wagenknecht/Darling) to **approve Consent Calendar item C.1 – C.2.** Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

(Absent: Directors, Murphy, Greene, and Thier).

comments.

### 6. Resolution 2022-15 Establishing the Annual Compensation for the Chief Executive Officer (Discussion/Action)

Catalina Murphy, Associate General Counsel, and Jean Bonander, Facilitator from Finesse the Future presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Coler/Scales-Preston) to approve Resolution No. 2022-15 Establishing the Annual Compensation for the Chief Executive Officer. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors, Murphy, Greene, and Thier).

## 7. <u>2022 Charles F. McGlashan Advocacy Award (Discussion/Action)</u> Sebastian Conn, Community Development Manager, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Coler/Athas) to select the 2022 recipient(s) of the Charles F. McGlashan Advocacy Award to be presented at a future meeting of the MCE Board of Directors. Matt Belasco with Pittsburg Unified School District, Contra Costa County, Sara Bellafronte with City of Pittsburg, Contra Costa County, and Napa Green, Napa County were selected. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors, Birsan, Murphy, Greene, Thier, and Wilkinson).

### 8. <u>2022 MCE Climate Action Leadership Award Nomination</u> (<u>Discussion/Action</u>)

Stephanie Chen, Director of Legislative Affairs, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Athas/Darling) to present 2022 Climate Action Leadership Awards to Senator Dianne Feinstein, Congressman John Garamendi, and Congressman Jared Huffman at an upcoming Board meeting. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors, Birsan, Murphy, Greene, Thier, and Wilkinson).

## Consider Adjusting Time of Executive Committee Meeting (Discussion) CEO Weisz, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

#### 10. Review Draft 12.15.22 Board Agenda (Discussion)

CEO Weisz, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

#### 11. Committee Matters & Staff Matters (Discussion)

There were none.

#### 12. Adjournment

Chair Haroff adjourned the meeting at 2:22 p.m. to the next scheduled Executive Committee Meeting on January 5, 2023.

DocuSigned by:	
kevin Haroff	
Kevin Haroff, Chair	
Attest:	
Allesi.	
DocuSigned by:	
Dawn Weisz	
A59878416EBC4F8	
Dawn Weisz, Secretary	