MCE BOARD MEETING MINUTES Thursday, April 15, 2021 7:00 P.M.

The Board of Directors' Meeting was conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20 (March 17, 2020) which suspends certain requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act. Board Members, staff and members of the public were able to participate in the Board Meeting via teleconference.

Present: Denise Athas, City of Novato

Eli Beckman, Alternate, Town of Corte Madera

Tom Butt, City of Richmond, Board Chair

Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax

Cindy Darling, City of Walnut Creek

Gina Dawson, City of Lafayette

David Fong, Town of Danville

Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo

Maika Llorens Gulati, City of San Rafael

Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur

Janelle Kellman, City of Sausalito

Sashi McEntee, City of Mill Valley

Tim McGallian, Alternate, City of Concord

Aaron Meadows, City of Oakley

Katy Miessner, City of Vallejo

Devin Murphy, City of Pinole

Patricia Ponce, City of San Pablo

Gabriel Quinto, City of El Cerrito

Scott Perkins, City of San Ramon

Katie Rice, County of Marin

Matt Rinn, City of Pleasant Hill

Shanelle Scales-Preston, City of Pittsburg

Holli Thier, Town of Tiburon

John Vasquez, County of Solano

Brad Wagenknecht, County of Napa

Sally Wilkinson, City of Belvedere

Brianne Zorn, City of Martinez

Absent: Tom Campbell, City of Benicia

John Gioia, Contra Costa County C. William Kircher, Town of Ross

Teresa Onoda, Town of Moraga

Staff

& Others: Jesica Brooks, Assistant Board Clerk

Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel Stephanie Chen, Senior Policy Counsel

Darlene Jackson, Board Clerk

Vicken Kasarjian, Chief Operating Officer Sol Phua, Administrative Services Assistant

Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance and Treasurer

Enyonam Senyo-Mensah, Administrative Services Associate

Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer

1. Roll Call

Chair Butt called the regular meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were no announcements made.

3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

4. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO Dawn Weisz, reported the following:

- Welcomed MCE's newest Director, Leila Mongan, who was sworn in just prior to the beginning of this Board meeting. She represents the Town of Corte Madera, replacing Director David Kunhardt.
- FlexMarketplace is an exciting new program MCE has launched to help with energy load reduction and load shifting away from peak hours. It is getting a lot of interest from industry media.
- The CPUC has issued a draft decision on the PCIA which would result in outcomes that continue cost allocation problems of the past. The bill MCE has put forward with CalCCA, SB 612, would address the PCIA by reducing costs for all customers. If you have not already, please reach out to legislators in your district to support this bill, or consider a letter of support. Stephanie Chen is leading MCE efforts on this bill and can provide support.

5. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 Approval of 3.18.21 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Approved Contracts for Energy Update

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Greene/Quinto) to approve Consent Calendar Items C.1 and C.2. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Campbell, Gioia, Kircher, McGallian, and Onoda).

6. <u>Update on Prepayment of Certain MCE Renewable Energy Power Purchase Agreements to Reduce Cost (Discussion/Action)</u>

Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance & Treasurer and Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Council, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Their/Perkins) to Direct Staff to finalize negotiations and bring back Renewable Energy PPA Prepayment documentation and a Parameters Resolution to the Board for consideration and approval. Motion carried by majority roll call vote. (Nay: Directors McEntee and Wilkinson. Absent: Directors Campbell, Gioia, Kircher, and Onoda).

7. Board Matters & Staff Matters (Discussion)

Comments were made by Board members Murphy and Thier.

8. Adjournment

Chair Butt adjourned the regular meeting at 8:25 p.m.

SPECIAL MEETING CONVENED AT 8:26 p.m.

1. Roll Call

Chair Butt called the special meeting to order at 8:26 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

2. Resolution 2021-03 to Approve Formation of California Community Choice Financing Authority (Discussion/Action)

Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance & Treasurer, and Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Council, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Their/Perkins) to Adopt Resolution 2021-03 to Approve Formation of California Community Choice Financing Authority.

Motion carried by majority roll call vote. (Nay: Directors McEntee and Wilkinson. Absent: Directors Campbell, Gioia, Kircher, and Onoda).

3. Adjournment

Chair Butt adjourned the special meeting at 8:56 p.m. to the next scheduled Board Meeting on May 20, 2021.

DocuSigned by:	
SEEDDERE 1E86437	
Tom Butt, Chair	
•	
.	
Attest:	
DocuSigned by:	
Dawn Weisz	
A59878416EBC4F8	
Dawn Weisz, Secretary	
Duvin vvoisz, secretary	