MCE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Friday, March 5, 2021 12:15 P.M.

The Executive Committee Meeting was conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20 (March 17, 2020) which suspends certain requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act. Committee Members, staff and members of the public were able to participate in the Committee Meeting via teleconference.

Present: Denise Athas, City of Novato

Edi Birsan, City of Concord Tom Butt, City of Richmond Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax Cindy Darling, City of Walnut Creek Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo

Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur Devin Murphy, City of Pinole Gabriel Quinto, City of El Cerrito

Shanelle Scales-Preston, City of Pittsburg

Sally Wilkinson, City of Belvedere

Staff & Others:

Jesica Brooks, Assistant Board Clerk

Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Council Stephanie Chen, Senior Policy Council

Darlene Jackson, Board Clerk

Vicken Kasarjian, Chief Operating Officer Justin Marquez, Community Equity Specialist Evelyn Reyes, Administrative Services Assistant

Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance Maira Strauss, Finance Manager

Enyonam Senyo-Mensah, Administrative Services Associate

Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer

1. Roll Call

Chair Butt called the regular Executive Committee meeting to order at 12:15 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were comments from Directors Butt and Haroff.

3. Electing Chair of Executive Committee (Discussion/Action)

It was suggested and agreed that this item be moved up to Agenda Item #3 to establish Committee Chair.

Chair Butt, presented the item and facilitated the election process. There were three nominations for Chair of the Executive Committee: Director Coler, Director Green, and Haroff, Director

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: By majority Committee vote, Director Kevin Haroff was elected Chair of the Executive Committee.

4. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

5. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO, Dawn Weisz, reported the following:

- San Diego Community Power launched this week. They will be serving the cities of: Chula Vista, Encinitas, Imperial Beach, La Mesa & San Diego.
- There are many contract renewals on our agenda today as we prepare for the start of our new fiscal year on April 1.
- We will soon be exploring and possibly entering into a few transactions including multi-year transactions for PCC1, ACS, Large Hydro and hedge volumes, as well as a Base Resource Contract with WAPA for large hydroelectric energy from the Central Valley Project
- We have begun to enroll customers in the Arrearage Management Program (AMP), and have had huge success so far.
- MCE has been working closely with Napa County to submit an application today to the FEMA Hazard Mitigation Grant Program to install solar-powered energy storage systems that would prevent disruptions of critical services provided by 2 water treatment and pumping facilities in the Berryessa Highlands community. That application was submitted today.
- MCE has been awarded a credit rating of "A" with stable outlook by S&P.

6. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 Approval of 2.5.21 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Third Agreement with Hall Energy Law PC
- C.3 Ninth Agreement with Braun Blaising Smith Wynne, P.C.
- C.4 Sixth Agreement with Keyes & Fox, LLP
- C.5 Eleventh Agreement with Niemela Pappas & Associates
- C.6 Twelfth Agreement with Maher Accountancy
- C.7 Second Agreement with EcoShift Consulting
- C.8 Second Agreement with Freelance Media Buying

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Greene/Quinto) to approve Consent Calendar items C.1 – C.8. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

7. Fiscal Year 2021/22 Budget (Discussion/Action)

Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance and Maira Strauss, Manager of Finance, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were comments from member of the public Ken Strong.

Action: It was M/S/C (Coler/Athas) to recommend approval of the proposed FY 2021/22 Operating Fund, Energy Efficiency Program Fund, Local Renewable Energy and Program Development Fund, and Resiliency Fund Budgets to the MCE Board of Directors. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

8. Charles F. McGlashan Advocacy Award Nomination (Discussion/Action)

Justin Marquez, Community Equity Specialist, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Athas/Coler) to approve the 2020 winner(s) of the Charles F. McGlashan Advocacy Award to be presented at a future meeting of the MCE Board of Directors: Marin Center for Independent Living (Marin CIL), Disability Services Living Center (DSLC), the Independent Living Resources of Solano and Contra Costa (ILRSCC) & Vi Ibarra from the Developmental Disabilities Council of Contra Costa County (Jointly), Deborah Elliott with Napa County, and the Fairfax Climate Action Committee Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

9. Prepayment, Joint Procurement, and Direct Debt (Discussion)

COO Vicken Kasarjian, Director of Finance Garth Salisbury, and Senior Policy Counsel Michael Callahan, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

10. Legislative Update (Discussion)

Stephanie Chen, Senior Policy Council, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

11. Review Draft 3.18.21 Board Agenda (Discussion)

CEO Dawn Weisz, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Haroff opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

12. Committee & Staff Matters (Discussion)

There were none.

13. Adjournment

Dawn Weisz

Dawn Weisz, Secretary

Chair Haroff adjourned the meeting at 3:22 p.m. to the next scheduled Executive Committee Meeting on April 2, 2021.

Docusigned by:

Levin Haroff
SCODESSTROOMSE

Kevin Haroff, Chair

Attest:

Docusigned by: