## MCE BOARD MEETING MINUTES Thursday, November 19, 2020 7:00 P.M.

The Board of Directors' Meeting was conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20 (March 17, 2020) which suspends certain requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act. Board Members, staff and members of the public were able to participate in the Board Meeting via teleconference.

**Present:** Mike Anderson, City of Lafayette

Denise Athas, City of Novato Edi Birsan, City of Concord Tom Butt, City of Richmond Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo

Vovin Haroff City of Larkspur

Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur Sue Higgins, City of Oakley

C. William Kircher, Town of Ross

David Kunhardt, Town of Corte Madera

Greg Lyman, City of El Cerrito Bob McCaskill, City of Belvedere

Andrew McCullough, City of San Rafael

Katy Miessner, City of Vallejo

Elizabeth Pabon-Alvarado, City of San Pablo

Elizabeth Patterson, City of Benicia Scott Perkins, City of San Ramon

Matt Rinn, City of Pleasant Hill

Anthony Tave, Alternate, City of Pinole

Shanelle Scales-Preston, City of Pittsburg

Kate Sears, County of Marin

Robert Storer, Town of Danville

Holli Thier, Town of Tiburon

Brad Wagenknecht, County of Napa

Ray Withy, City of Sausalito and City of Mill Valley

Absent: John Gioia, Contra Costa County

Rob Schroder, City of Martinez Renata Sos, Town of Moraga John Vasquez, County of Solano Justin Wedel, City of Walnut Creek

#### Staff

**& Others:** Jesica Brooks, Assistant Board Clerk

Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel John Dalessi, Pacific Energy Advisors

Darlene Jackson, Board Clerk

Leanne Hoadley, Manager of Community and Customer

#### Engagement

Vicken Kasarjian, Chief Operating Officer Sol Phua, Administrative Services Assistant Evelyn Reyes, Administrative Services Assistant

David Ruderman, CH&W

Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance and Treasurer

Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer

## 1. Roll Call/Quorum:

Chair Sears called the regular meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

## 2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were announcements made by Board members.

#### 3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

There were comments made by member of the public, Chris Yolanis, Marin Climate Action Network.

#### 4. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO Dawn Weisz, reported the following:

- Welcomed our newest Board member, Katy Miessner and Alternate Pippin Dew from the City of Vallejo. Noted that Director Miessner was sworn in on November 12<sup>th</sup> at the New Member Orientation.
- A Virtual Holiday Party will be held on Thursday, December 17th, which is the last Board meeting date scheduled for 2020.

# 5. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 Approval of 7.16.20 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Approval of 9.18.20 Meeting Minutes
- C.3 Response to Marin County Civil Grand Jury Report
- C.4 Authority to Enter into Financial Security Instruments for Compliance
- C.5 Approved Contracts for Energy Update

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no

Action: It was M/S/C (Greene/Birsan) to approve Consent Calendar items C.1-C.5. Motion was carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Abstained on C.1 and C.2: Director Miessner) Absent: Directors Gioia, Schroder. Sos. Vasauez. Wedel).

comments.

#### 6. CCA Joint Powers Authority (Discussion/Action)

COO Kasarjian, Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel, and David Ruderman of CH&W introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Patterson/Perkins) to **authorize MCE to form a new Procurement JPA with other CCAs.** Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. **(Abstained: Directors Lyman and Alternate Tave)** (Absent: Directors Gioia, Schroder, Sos, Vasquez, Wedel).

#### 7. Addition of Board Members to Committees (Discussion/Action)

CEO Weisz, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Higgins/Patterson) to **approve addition of Board Members to Committees**. Directors Birsan and Wilkinson to Ad Hoc Bonding. Director Greene to Ad Hoc Contracts, Director Wilkinson to the Executive Committee, and Director Miessner to the Technical

Committee. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Gioia, Schroder, Sos, Vasquez, Wedel).

# 8. <u>Resolution No. 2020-04 Rescinding Resolution No. 2018-03 and Delegating Energy Procurement Authority (Discussion/Action)</u>

COO Kasarjian, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Perkins/Haroff) to **Adopt proposed Resolution 2020-04 Rescinding Resolution 2018-03 and Delegating Energy Procurement Authority.** Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Gioia, Schroder, Sos, Vasquez, Wedel).

 Receive Applicant Analysis and Consider 1. Resolution 2020-03 of the Board of Directors of MCE approving the City of Fairfield as Member of MCE; 2. Amendment 15 to the MCE JPA Agreement; and 3. Direction to Submit Addendum No. 8 to the MCE Implementation Plan and Statement of Intent (Discussion/Action)

Leanne Hoadley, Manager of Community and Customer Engagement and John Dalessi, Pacific Energy Advisors, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Patterson/Higgins) to 1. Approve Resolution 2020-03 of the Board of Directors of MCE Approving the City of Fairfield as a Member; 2. Approve Amendment 15 to the MCE JPA Agreement; and 3. Direct staff to submit Addendum No. 8 to the MCE Implementation Plan and Statement of Intent to the CPUC for Certification. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Gioia, Schroder, Sos, Vasquez, Wedel).

## 10. Policy 016: Operating Reserve Fund (Discussion/Action)

Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Withy/Haroff) to **recommend adoption of Policy 016: Operating Reserve Fund.** Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Gioia, Schroder, Sos, Vasquez, Wedel).

## 11. Board Elections for Chair and Vice Chair (Discussion/Action)

CEO Weisz, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Haroff/Birsan) to **elect Directors Tom Butt as MCE Board Chair and Shanelle Scales-Preston as Vice Chair**. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Gioia, Schroder, Sos, Vasquez, Wedel).

#### 12. Acknowledgements for Departing Board Members (Discussion)

CEO Weisz, facilitated this item and acknowledgements were made by Board members and staff.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

## 13. <u>Board Matters & Staff Matters (Discussion)</u>

There were no announcements or additional matters.

#### 14. Adjournment

Chair Sears adjourned the meeting at 9:44 p.m. to the next scheduled Board Meeting on December 17, 2020.

Attest:

—DocuSigned by:

Dawn Weisz, Secretary