MCE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Friday, November 6, 2020 12:15 P.M.

The Executive Committee Meeting was conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Governor's <u>Executive Order</u> N-29-20 (March 17, 2020) which suspends certain requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act. Committee Members, staff and members of the public were able to participate in the Committee Meeting via teleconference.

Present:	Denise Athas, City of Novato Edi Birsan, City of Concord Lisa Blackwell, Town of Danville Tom Butt, City of Richmond Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur Bob McCaskill, City of Belvedere Elizabeth Patterson, City of Benicia Shanelle Scales-Preston, City of Pittsburg Kate Sears, County of Marin Renata Sos, Town of Moraga
Absent:	Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo
Staff & Others:	Jesica Brooks, Assistant Board Clerk Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel John Dalessi, Pacific Energy Advisors Leanne Hoadley, Manager of Community & Customer Engagement Darlene Jackson, Board Clerk Vicken Kasarjian, Chief Operating Officer Sol Phua, Administrative Services Assistant Evelyn Reyes, Administrative Services Assistant Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance & Treasurer Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer

1. <u>Roll Call</u>

Chair Butt, called the regular Executive Committee meeting to order at 12:16 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were none.

3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

There were no speakers.

4. <u>Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)</u>

CEO, Dawn Weisz, reported the following:

- Orientation for the new MCE Board representation from the City of Vallejo, Katy Miessner, will take place on Thursday, November 12th.
- MCE continues to offer free charging at our San Rafael office parking lot.
- MCE has won the Special Districts 2020 Technology Innovation Award in the Citizens Category for our work moving our public meetings to digital format via Zoom! The awards ceremony will take place on December 15th at 11 am. Our very own Enyo Senyo-Mensah, has been selected to accept the award on behalf of MCE due to the instrumental part she played in the process of moving MCE and its work to a public meeting digital format via Zoom!

5. <u>Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)</u>

- C.1 Approval of 10.2.20 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 First Amendment of the First Agreement with EV Charging Pros

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Sears/Patterson) **to approve Consent Calendar items C.1 and C.2.** Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Birsan and Greene).

6. <u>Receive Applicant Analysis and Consider Recommending Resolution 2020-03 for</u> <u>the Board of Directors to Approve the City of Fairfield as an MCE Member for a</u> <u>2022 Enrollment (Discussion/Action)</u>

Leanne Hoadley, Manager of Community & Customer Engagement and John Dalessi, Pacific Energy Advisors, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Patterson/Haroff) to recommend the MCE Board of Directors approve the City of Fairfield as a member of MCE, and take all necessary actions to finalize membership for service in 2022. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Director Greene).

7. <u>CCA Joint Powers Authority (Discussion/Action)</u>

Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel and, Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance & Treasurer presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Sears/Haroff) to recommend the MCE Board of Directors authorize MCE to form a new Procurement Joint Powers Authority with other CCAs. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Director Greene).

8. <u>Resolution No. 2020-04 Rescinding Resolution No. 2018-03 and Delegating Energy</u> <u>Procurement Authority (Discussion/Action)</u>

Vicken Kasarjian, Chief Operating Officer, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Sears/Coler) to recommend the MCE Board of Directors, pending language adjustment, adopt proposed Resolution 2020-04 Rescinding Resolution 2018-03 and Delegating Energy Procurement Authority. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Director Greene).

9. Policy 016: Operating Reserve Fund (Discussion/Action)

Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance & Treasurer, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Sears/Coler) to recommend adoption of Policy 016: Operating Reserve Fund by the MCE Board of Directors. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Director Greene).

10. <u>Authority to Enter into Financial Security Instruments for Compliance</u> (Discussion/Action)

Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel and Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance & Treasurer, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Sears/Coler) to recommend the MCE Board of Directors authorize MCE to enter into Financial Security Instruments as needed to maintain compliance with Public Utilities Code Section 394.25(e) with notice for increases. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors, Athas and Greene).

11. <u>Review Draft 11.19.20 Board Agenda (Discussion)</u>

Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Butt opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

12. Committee & Staff Matters (Discussion)

There were none.

13. Adjournment

Chair Butt adjourned the meeting at 2:50 p.m. to the next scheduled Executive Committee Meeting on December 3, 2020.

---- DocuSigned by:

1 But Tom Butt, Chair

Attest:

DocuSigned by:

Dawn Weisz, Secretary