#### MCE BOARD MEETING MINUTES Thursday, May 21, 2020 7:00 P.M.

The Board of Directors' Meeting was conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Governor's <u>Executive Order</u> N-29-20 (March 17, 2020) which suspends certain requirements of the Ralph M. Brown Act. Board Members, staff and members of the public were able to participate in the Board Meeting via teleconference.

Present: Mike Anderson, City of Lafayette Denise Athas. Citv of Novato Edi Birsan, City of Concord Tom Butt, City of Richmond Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur Sue Higgins, City of Oakley C. William Kircher, Town of Ross David Kunhardt, Town of Corte Madera Greg Lyman, City of El Cerrito Bob McCaskill, City of Belvedere Andrew McCullough, City of San Rafael Elizabeth Pabon-Alvarado, City of San Pablo Elizabeth Patterson, City of Benicia Scott Perkins, City of San Ramon Kate Sears, County of Marin Renata Sos, Town of Moraga John Vasquez, County of Solano Brad Wagenknecht, County of Napa Justin Wedel, City of Walnut Creek Ray Withy, City of Sausalito and City of Mill Valley Absent: Lisa Blackwell, Town of Danville John Gioia, Contra Costa County Vincent Salimi, City of Pinole Shanelle Scales-Preston, City of Pittsburg Rob Schroder, City of Martinez Jon Welner, Town of Tiburon

# Staff

& Others: Darlene Jackson, Board Clerk Alice Havenar-Daughton, Director of Customer Programs Vicken Kasarjian, Chief Operating Officer Justin Marquez, Community Equity Specialist Enyo Senyo-Mensah, Administrative Services Associate Heather Shepard, Director of Public Affairs Shalini Swaroop, General Counsel Jamie Tuckey, Director of Strategic Initiatives Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer

# 1. Roll Call/Quorum:

Director Kate Sears called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

## 2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were none.

## 3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

## 4. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO Dawn Weisz, reported the following:

- Enrollment in the County of Solano is now complete.
- Introduction of the following new Board Members that were sworn in during the 5.18.20 orientation: David Kunhardt Town of Corte Madera, Mayor Eli Beckman, Alternate Town of Corte Madera and, C. William Kircher Town of Ross. The new Board members were welcomed by the Board.
- MCE is looking forward to welcoming our newest Board additions from Vallejo and Pleasant Hill, probably by next month's Board meeting.
- MCE is celebrating its 10-year Anniversary this month and there have been a number of activities to commemorate the milestone including a press release, an article about MCE's launch and purpose and social media posts. In addition, staff are using Zoom backgrounds for the anniversary, and commemorative pins have been mailed to board members and staff.
- Reminder to unmute, use your name when you speak, and mute when you are done speaking. You are encouraged to use the "raise hand" feature if you are able. If not, the Chair will pause for input regularly during the meeting.
- MCE COVID-19 responses:
  - Continuing remote work for all staff.
  - > All community meetings have been transitioned to remote access.
  - > Load impacts: Residential higher, commercial lower, 5-8% load reduction overall.
- MCE is offering free charging at our San Rafael office parking lot during the shelter-inplace.
- MCE will be receiving the 2020 Acterra Business Environmental Award next Thursday for our work on MCE Solar One. We are sharing this award with the City of Richmond and RichmondBUILD.

 MCE's 2020 Open Season Request for Offers produced 85 offers from 32 unique counterparties. Short-listed bids were presented to the Ad Hoc Contracts Committee on May 13th, and potential agreements for power supply will ultimately be making their way to the Technical Committee in late summer.

#### 5. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 Approval of 3.19.20 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Approved Contracts Update
- C.3 Voting Shares
- C.4 Authorization to Enter Into Prepayment Transaction Contract

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Lyman/Haroff) to approve Consent Calendar items: C.1-C.4. The motion was subject to updated language for item C.3 reflecting approval of both Exhibits C and D. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Blackwell, Gioia, Salimi, Scales-Preston, Schroder, and Welner).

## 6. Charles F. McGlashan Advocacy Awards 2019 (Discussion/Action)

Justin Marquez, Community Equity Specialist presented this item and addressed questions from the Board.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period. There were comments from award recipients Rose Jackson, National Council for Jewish Women and Bradley Waite, Sustainable Ross.

Action: No action required. Item was previously approved by Executive Committee.

## 7. Addition of Board Members to Committees (Discussion/Action)

CEO Dawn Weisz, presented this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Coler/Patterson) to **add Director David Kunhardt to the Technical Committee.** The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Blackwell, Gioia, Salimi, Scales-Preston, Schroder, and Welner).

## 8. Resiliency Program Update (Discussion)

Director of Customer Programs, Alice Havenar-Daughton, Director of Strategic Initiatives, Jamie Tuckey and General Counsel, Shalini Swaroop jointly presented this item and addressed questions from the Board. Chair Sears opened the public comment period. There were comments from member of the public, Aleta Dupree.

#### Action: No action required

## 9. Public Affairs Update (Discussion)

Director of Public Affairs, Heather Shepard introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period. There were comments from member of the public, Aleta Dupree.

Action: No action required

## 10. Board Matters & Staff Matters (Discussion)

There were no announcements.

#### 11. Adjournment

Chair Kate Sears adjourned the meeting at 8:32 p.m. to the next scheduled Board Meeting on June 18, 2020.

DocuSigned by:

kathrin Sears

Kate Sears, Chair

Attest:

—DocuSigned by: Dawn Wusz

Dawn Weisz, Secretary