APPROVED

JUL 2 0 2017

MCE BOARD MEETING MINUTES Thursday, May 18, 2017 7:00 P.M.

THE CHARLES F. MCGLASHAN BOARD ROOM 1125 TAMALPAIS AVENUE, SAN RAFAEL, CA 94901

MARIN CLEAN ENERGY

Roll Call:

Director Kate Sears called the regular Board meeting to order at 7:03 p.m. An

established quorum was met.

Present:

Denise Athas, City of Novato

Sloan Bailey, Town of Corte Madera

Tom Butt, City of Richmond
Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax
Arturo Cruz, City of San Pablo
Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo
Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur
Greg Lyman, City of El Cerrito
Bob McCaskill, City of Belvedere

Andrew McCullough, City of San Rafael

P. Rupert Russell, Town of Ross Alan Schwartzman, City of Benicia Kate Sears, Chair, County of Marin

Don Tatzin, City of Lafayette (Lafayette Location)

Brad Wagenknecht, County of Napa

Kevin Wilk, City of Walnut Creek (Lafayette Location)

Ray Withy, City of Sausalito

Absent:

Sashi McEntee, City of Mill Valley

Emmett O'Donnell, Town of Tiburon

Staff:

Carol Dorsett, Operations Associate

Kirby Dusel, Resource Planning & Renewable Energy Programs

Jesica Flores-Brooks, Administrative Assistant

Brian Goldstein, Resource Planning & Implementation J.R. Killigrew, Community Development Manager Justin Kudo, Deputy Director, Account Services Paul Liotsakis, Customer Programs Manager Alexandra McGee, Community Power Organizer

David McNeil, Finance Manager

Justine Parmelee, Operations Associate (Lafayette Location)

Shalini Swaroop, Deputy General Counsel Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer



Swearing In of New Board Member - Arturo Cruz, City of San Pablo

1. Board Announcements (Discussion)

MARIN CLEAN ENERGY

2. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Helene Marsh, member of the public, provided an update from her January 2017 presentation to the Board regarding Environmental Forum of Marin Master Class 43 Project Municipal Use of 100% Renewable Electricity.

3. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO Dawn Weisz reported on the following:

- MCE is video conferencing via Skype from a remote location in Lafayette for the first time. MCE
 Directors were told they were welcome to attend the Lafayette location.
- The following communities have voted to request membership in MCE:
 - Contra Costa County (unincorporated)
 - > Town of Moraga
 - > Town of Danville
 - City of Oakley
 - City of Pinole
 - City of Pittsburg
- MCE was selected for a \$1.75 million grant from the California Energy Commission.
- Upcoming dates for Technical Committee, June 1, 2017 and ExCom June 2, 2017. MCE is currently working on a date for the 2017 Fall Board Retreat.

4. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 3.16.17 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Approved Contracts Update
- C.3 First Agreement with Free Range Videographers
- C.4 First Amendment to the First Agreement with The Energy Alliance Association
- C.5 Proposed Amendment to Ratepayer Rule No. 005

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Wagenknecht/Greene) to **approve Consent Calendar items**. Motion carried by unanimous vote. (Abstain on C.1: Director Schwartzman) (Absent: Directors McEntee and O'Donnell).

5. Proposed 2017/18 Budget Amendment (Discussion/Action)

David McNeil, Finance Manager, presented this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Coler/Lyman) to approve the proposed Amendment to the FY 2017/18 Operating Fund Budget. Motion carried by unanimous vote. (Absent: Directors McEntee and O'Donnell).

6. MCE Greenhouse Gas Emissions Analysis for CY 2015 (Discussion/Action)

Kirby Dusel, Resource Planning & Renewable Energy Programs, presented this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Greene/Athas) to 1. approve the use, distribution and web posting of MCE's Emission Factor Certification Template, as provided by The Climate Registry (CY 2015), and 2. approve the use, distribution and web posting of the "Understanding MCE's GHG Emission Factors — Calendar Year 2015" document. Motion carried by unanimous vote. (Absent: Directors McEntee and O'Donnell).

7. <u>Draft Resolution No. 2017-03 to Revise Net Energy Metering (NEM) Tariff and Proposed</u> Amendments to Local Sol and NEM Electric Schedules (Discussion/Action)

Justin Kudo, Deputy Director, Account Services, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Bailey/Haroff) to approve draft Resolution No. 2017-03 and authorize staff to make the proposed amendments to the Local Sol and Net Energy Metering Electric Schedules. Motion carried by unanimous vote. (Absent: Directors McEntee and O'Donnell).

8. Draft Resolution No. 2017-04 Authorizing Entry Into and Execution of Certain Contracts Relating to the MCE Solar One Project (Discussion/Action)

Dawn Weisz, CEO, presented this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Bailey/Haroff) to approve Resolution No. 2017-04 authorizing entry into and execution of certain contracts relating to the MCE Solar One project. Motion carried by unanimous vote. (Absent: Directors McEntee and O'Donnell).

Mac & C INF

9. Update on Community Power Coalition (Discussion)

Alexandra McGee, Community Power Organizer, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: No action required.

10. Policy Update (Discussion)

Shalini Swaroop, Deputy General Counsel, presented this item and addressed questions from Board members.

ACTION: No action required.

11. Board Member & Staff Matters (Discussion)

There were none.

12. Adjournment

The Board of Directors adjourned the meeting at 8:52 p.m. to the next Regular Board Meeting on July 20, 2017.

Kate Sears, Chair

Attest:

APPROVED

JUL 2 0 2017

MARIN CLEAN ENERGY

Dawn Weisz, Board Secretary