MCE BOARD MEETING MINUTES Thursday, April 19, 2018 7:00 P.M.

APPROVED MAY 17 2018

MARIN CLEAN ENERGY

One Concord Center 2300 Clayton Road, Suite 650 Concord, CA 94520

MCE Charles F. McGlashan Board Room 1125 Tamalpais Avenue

San Rafael, CA 94901

Roll Call: Director Kate Sears called the regular Board meeting to order at 7:06 p.m. By roll call, an established quorum was met. Present: Denise Athas, City of Novato (San Rafael) Sloan Bailey, Town of Corte Madera (Concord) Edi Birsan, City of Concord (Concord) Lisa Blackwell, Town of Danville (Concord) Tom Butt, City of Richmond (San Rafael)) Rich Carlston, City of Walnut Creek (Concord) Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax (San Rafael) Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur (San Rafael) Sue Higgins, City of Oakley (Concord) David Kulik, Alternate, Town of Tiburon (San Rafael) Pete Longmire, City of Pittsburg (Concord) Greg Lyman, City of El Cerrito (San Rafael) Andrew McCullough, City of San Rafael (San Rafael) Scott Perkins, City of San Ramon (Concord) Kate Sears, Chair, County of Marin (San Rafael) Don Tatzin, City of Lafayette (Concord) Maureen Toms, City of Pinole (Concord) Dave Trotter, Town of Moraga (Concord) Brad Wagenknecht, County of Napa (San Rafael) Ray Withy, City of Sausalito (San Rafael) Absent: Arturo Cruz, City of San Pablo Federal Glover, County of Contra Costa Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo Bob McCaskill, City of Belvedere Sashi McEntee, City of Mill Valley P. Rupert Russell, Town of Ross Rob Schroder, City of Martinez Alan Schwartzman, City of Benicia Staff: Jesica Brooks, Board Assistant (San Rafael) John Dalessi, Operations and Development (San Rafael) Kirby Dusel, Resource Planning and Renewable Energy Programs (Concord)



Darlene Jackson, Board Clerk (San Rafael) Sam Kang, Resource Planning (San Rafael) Justin Kudo, Deputy Director, Account Services (San Rafael) Nathaniel Malcolm, Regulatory Counsel (San Rafael) David McNeil, Manager of Finance (San Rafael) Enyonam Senyo-Mensah, Operations Assistant (Concord)

OLEAN ENERGY

Envonam Senyo-Mensah, Operations Assistant (Concord) Maira Strauss, Customer Programs Assistant (San Rafael) Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer (Concord)

1. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were none.

2. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

3. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO, Dawn Weisz, reported on the following:

- Board Members were asked to complete the 2018 Board Survey.
- Ms. Weisz announced that staff will transition to the new Concord office effective Monday, April 23rd. Movers were onsite today to assist. A tour of the new office will be planned within the next few months.
- The MCE Solar One ribbon cutting celebration was held on April 18th, with a wonderful turnout and it was a huge success. Board Chair, Kate Sears served as moderator. RichmondBuild graduate Jonathan Britto, in addition to being one of the guest speakers, also had the honor of flipping the switch to officially "turn on" MCE's Solar One Project. Supervisors Federal Glover and John Gioia, both of whom serve on the MCE Board of Directors, shared encouraging words to all of the attendees.
- Ms. Weisz asked Chair Sears to comment on their April 16th trip to CAISO. Other Board members expressed interest in attending a CAISO Field Trip.
- Ms. Weisz provided new community enrollment figures as of April 18th.

4. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 Approval of 3.15.18 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Approved Contracts Update

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Wagenknecht/Athas) to **approve Consent Calendar.** Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Abstain on C.1: Directors Carlston, Coler, Haroff, Kulik, Longmire and Trotter) (Absent: Directors Cruz, Glover, Greene, McCaskill, McEntee, Russell, Schroder and Schwartzman).

5. Proposed Amendment to MCE Policy 014: Investment Policy (Discussion/Action)

David McNeil, Manager of Finance, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Bailey/Wagenknecht) to **approve (i) proposed amended MCE Policy 014: Investment Policy**. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Cruz, Glover, Greene, McCaskill, McEntee, Russell, Schroder and Schwartzman) and, **(ii) proposed Resolution 2018-05 Authorizing Investment of Monies in the Local Agency Investment Fund**. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Cruz, Glover, Greene, McCaskill, McEntee, Russell, Schroder and Schwartzman).

6. Proposed MCE Policy 015: Energy Risk Management Policy (Discussion/Action)

David McNeil, Manager of Finance, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Trotter/Birsan) to **approve proposed MCE Policy 015: Energy Risk Management Policy**. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Cruz, Glover, Greene, McCaskill, McEntee, Russell, Schroder and Schwartzman).

7. Proposed Electric Vehicle Rates for FY 2018/19 (Discussion/Action)

Justin Kudo, Deputy Director, Account Services, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no speakers.

ACTION: It was M/S/C (Withy/Haroff) to accept the proposed revisions to Schedule EV as set forth in Table 1 as presented. Motion carried by roll call vote. (Noes: Director Birsan). (Absent: Directors Cruz, Glover, Greene, McCaskill, McEntee, Russell, Schroder and Schwartzman).

8. Policy Update on Regulatory and Legislative Items (Discussion)

Nathaniel Malcolm, Regulatory Counsel, presented this item and addressed questions from Board members.

ACTION: No action required.

9. Board Member & Staff Matters (Discussion)

There were no announcements.

10. Adjournment

Chair Kate Sears adjourned the meeting at 9:22 p.m. to the next scheduled Board Meeting on May 17, 2018.

Kate Sears, Chair

Attest:

de -Dawn Weisz, Secretary