## DRAFT

## MCE TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES APPROVED Thursday, December 5, 2019 8:30 A.M.

FFR 0 6 2020

Mt. Diablo Room 2300 Clayton Road, Suite 1150 Concord, CA 94520

# Charles F. McGlashan Board Room 1125 Tamalpais Avenue San Rafael, CA 94901

## City of El Cerrito 10890 San Pablo Avenue, Hillside Conference Room El Cerrito, CA 94530

## City of San Ramon 7000 Bollinger Canyon Road, Room 256 San Ramon, CA 94583

Present:	John Gioia, County of Contra Costa (El Cerrito) [Call-in]
	Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo (San Rafael)
	Greg Lyman, City of El Cerrito (El Cerrito) [Call-in]
	Scott Perkins, City of San Ramon (San Ramon) [Call-in]
	Kate Sears, Committee Chair, County of Marin (San Rafael)

# Absent:Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur<br/>Rob Schroder, City of MartinezRay Withy, City of Sausalito and the City of Mill Valley<br/>Justin Wedel, City of Walnut Creek

## Staff

& Others: Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel (San Rafael) CB Hall, Power Supply Contracts Manager (San Rafael) Darlene Jackson, Board Clerk (Concord) Vicken Kasarjian, Chief Operating Officer (San Rafael) Justin Kudo, Strategic Analysis & Rates Manager (San Rafael) Jay Marshall, Information Technology Systems Manager (San Rafael) Garth Salisbury, Director of Finance (San Rafael) Enyo Senyo-Mensah, Administrative Associate (Concord) Taylor Sherman, Administrative Assistant (San Rafael) Shalini Swaroop, General Counsel (San Rafael) Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer (San Rafael)

#### 1. Roll Call

Chair Kate Sears called the regular Technical Committee meeting to order at 8:34 A.M. with quorum established by roll call.

# MARIN CLEAN ENERGY

# 2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were none.

3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

There were no speakers.

# 4. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO, Dawn Weisz, reported the following:

- On Tuesday, December 3<sup>rd</sup>, Ms. Weisz made a presentation to the City of Fairfield and the Council voted unanimously to request membership in MCE.
- A presentation was made to the Energy Division of the CPUC regarding resiliency efforts.
- MCE will meet with California State Association of Counties on December 16<sup>th</sup> in Sacramento. One of the topics will be how CCAs get addressed in the CSAC organization. Anyone interested in attending this meeting is encouraged to contact Dawn.
- MCE Holiday Party reminder: Friday, December 6<sup>th</sup> at the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa.

# 5. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

C.1 Approval of 10.3.19 Meeting Minutes

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Lyman/Perkins) **to approve Consent Calendar**. (Absent: Directors Haroff, Schroder, Withy, and Wedel).

# 6. <u>Renewable Power Purchase Agreement for Small Hydroelectric Energy with Kern</u> and Tule Hydro, LLC (Discussion/Action)

CB Hall, Power Supply Contracts Manager, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Lyman/Greene) to authorize execution of Renewable Power **Purchase Agreement with Kern and Tule Hydro, LLC.** (Absent: Directors Haroff, Schroder, Withy and Wedel).

## 7. Proposed Changes to MCE's Net Metering Tariff and Cash-Out Program (Discussion/Action)

Justin Kudo, Strategic Analysis and Rates Manager, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were comments from Members of the Public Howdy Gowdy in El Cerrito and Dan Sedegin in San Rafael.

Action: It was M/S/C (Gioia/Lyman) 1. to approve the recommended changes to MCE's Electric Schedule NEM: Net Energy Metering Tariff and associated transitional schedule, effective following each customer's March-April 2020 billing cycle and 2. to direct staff to issue checks to all eligible NEM customers for the April 2020 Cash-Out, without requiring a customer request. (Absent: Directors Haroff, Schroder, Withy, and Wedel.).

## 8. GHG-Free Allocation Opportunity (Discussion)

Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel, presented this item and addressed questions from Committee members and members of the public.

Chair Sears opened the public comment period and there were comments from Members of the Public Howdy Gowdy, Dan Sedegin, Bob Miller, Marin Conservation League (San Rafael), and Ken Strong (San Rafael).

Action: No action was required.

#### 9. Committee & Staff Matters (Discussion)

## 10. Adjournment

Chair Sears adjourned the meeting at 10:00 a.m. to the next scheduled Technical Committee Meeting on January 2, 2020.

Kathrin Sears, Chair

Attest:

Dawn Weisz, Secretary

