MCE SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES Monday, January 28, 2019 10:30 A.M.

Mt. Diablo Room, 2300 Clayton Road, Suite 1150, Concord, Chiefe CLEAN The Charles F. McGlashan Board Room, 1125 Tamalpais Avenue, San Rafael, CA 94901 City of San Ramon, 7000 Bollinger Canyon Road, Room 256, San Ramon, CA 94583 Office of Contra Costa County Supervisor John Gioia, 11780 San Pablo Ave, Ste. D, El Cerrito, CA 94530 1505 Pearl St., Unit 309, Boulder, CO 80302

APPROVED

MAR 2 1 2013

Call to Order: Chair Kate Sears called the Special Meeting to order at 10:35 a.m.

Present:

Sloan Bailey, Town of Corte Madera (San Rafael) Lisa Blackwell, Town of Danville (Boulder, CO) Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax (San Rafael) Paul Fadelli, Alternate, City of El Cerrito (El Cerrito) John Gioia, Alternate, Contra Costa County (El Cerrito) Ford Greene, Town of San Anselmo (San Rafael) Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur (San Rafael) Claire McAuliffe, Alternate, City of Belvedere (San Rafael) Sashi McEntee, City of Mill Valley (San Rafael) Jael Myrick, Alternate, City of Richmond (San Rafael) Elizabeth Patterson, City of Benicia (Concord) Scott Perkins, City of San Ramon (City of San Ramon) Vincent Salimi, City of Pinole (San Rafael) Rob Schroder, City of Martinez (Concord) Kate Sears, County of Marin (San Rafael) Renata Sos, Town of Moraga (Concord) Brad Wagenknecht, County of Napa (San Rafael) Justin Wedel, City of Walnut Creek (Concord) Ray Withy, City of Sausalito (San Rafael)

Absent:

Denise Athas, City of Novato Arturo Cruz, City of San Pablo Sue Higgins, City of Oakley Tim McGallian, City of Concord Andrew McCullough, City of San Rafael Rupert Russell, Town of Ross Shanelle Scales-Preston, City of Pittsburg Jon Welner, Town of Tiburon (Recuse)

Staff

& Others:

Jesica Brooks, Board Assistant (San Rafael) Michael Callahan, Senior Policy Counsel (San Rafael) Darlene Jackson, Clerk of the Board (Concord) Nathaniel Malcolm, Policy Counsel (San Rafael) Catalina Murphy, Legal Counsel (San Rafael) Shalini Swaroop, General Counsel (San Rafael)

Swearing in of New Board Members

CEO Dawn Weisz conducted the Oath of Office for the following new Board members: Elizabeth Patterson, City of Benicia, Vincent Salimi, City of Pinole, Renata Sos, Town of Moraga, and Justin Wedel, City of Walnut Creek.

1. Roll Call/Quorum

Roll Call was conducted and quorum established.

2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were none.

3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

There were no speakers.

CLOSED SESSION

4. <u>CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL—ANTICIPATED LITIGATION</u> Initiation of litigation pursuant to paragraph (4) of subdivision (d) of Section 54956.9: (one case)

Action: The Board provided direction to staff to intervene in an action.

5. Adjourn

Chair Sears adjourned the meeting at 11:50 a.m. to the next scheduled Board Meeting on Thursday, February 21, 2019.

Kate Sears, Chair

Attest:

Dawn Weisz, Secretary